Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose

By any other name would smell as sweet.”

-Shakespeare

 

Well then why does everyone fret so much about naming their babies? If Shakespeare was right, many baby-naming books would have never sold even a single copy!

I think it’s very natural, or at least human, to give some thought to your offspring’s name. It is something so personal, so close to your heart that no matter how cold-hearted you are, you’re bound to give it a thought!

I remember the various reactions of friends and family members when I told them I was expecting. There was always a congratulations followed by some obvious questions like, ‘When are you due?’, ‘How do you feel?, ‘Will you guys find out if it’s a girl or a boy?’ and then … the question that was common in all: ‘Have you thought of a name?

Everyone seems to be curious about the name! And why not? It is an important part of what you are, isn’t it?

In fact, I do this too. I always ask about the name. I go a step further and ask, ‘How did you come up with that name? What does it mean?’ and so on. To me, it is very interesting to find out how people name their kids!

Some people name their kids after famous personalities or an inspirational figure- hoping that the name will have an effect on the kid :P. Others name their kids after religious figures (very common in India and maybe elsewhere). Some name their kids after their own family ancestors and others just name them after a word they recently liked, or a character in a book they admire, or in a movie for that matter, or a mixture of what both parents like!

My parents named the three of us in a very different way (I’ve personally never seen anyone do this so far). Our names are in three different languages! Apparently, my parents chose the words (our names) that basically depicted their overall mood/situation/liking at the time each of us was born. I find this extremely interesting and bold!

Let alone babies, my daughter even names her soft toys (fyi, she’s 4). She has last names for some too! We have: Fraggie Patton, Gugloo, Piggu, Donut, Mini-Mani, Rosey, Emily Elizabiz, Gallop, Dolly, Sonya and so on (well, tbh, I have named a couple for her. I won’t tell which ones though!).

Next time if someone says ‘What’s in a name?’, I think I’ll say: A lot of thought and a lot of fun! I wouldn’t be the same person I am today without the name I have afterall! :D. Sorry, Mr. Shakespeare!

So, do you know your ‘name’ story?

Name

Image: http://blogs.babycenter.com/mom_stories/my-kid-has-a-weird-name-get-over-it/

